Golf Course Reviews

The Myrtle Beach Golf Insider is a golf course review site developed for golfers, by golfers. The TraditionClub and dozens of area layouts that receive reviews based on course conditions, playability and customer service. Below is a sampling of the Tradition Club's most recent reviews.

OVERALL SCORE: 8.6 [8.6]

  • Tees:
    8 [8]
  • Greens:
    8 [8]
  • Fairways:
    8 [8]
  • Proshop:
    9 [9]
  • Grill:
    9 [9]
  • Staff:
    9 [9]
Based on 1371 reviews »

Latest Reviews from Myrtle Beach Golf Insider



Alex W on 11/03/2018:
" Everything about this place is top notch "
OVERALL SCORE: 9 [9]
Larry W on 10/27/2018:
" Very nice staff and very true greens "
OVERALL SCORE: 9 [9]
Scott D on 10/25/2018:
" Nice course. new greens were good. overall a nice experience "
OVERALL SCORE: 9 [9]
Bob C on 10/20/2018:
" Overall conditions were A+, pin location could have been more challenging. Will be back...Staff is great "
OVERALL SCORE: 10 [10]
Brent Carr on 10/14/2018:
" Greens are in wonderful condition! Very smooth and roll well. "
OVERALL SCORE: 10 [10]
John S on 10/09/2018:
" Great layout, beautiful views and challenging course. Course in great shape from tee to greens. A must play course for golfers of all levels. "
OVERALL SCORE: 10 [10]
Ralph J on 09/19/2018:
" Always nice with friendly staff "
OVERALL SCORE: 10 [10]
Mike S on 09/09/2018:
" Greens tracked true. It would be nice if you could take your cart to practice area "
OVERALL SCORE: 9 [9]
Damon H on 09/04/2018:
" Course was in great shape, new greens rolled really well, very full and true "
OVERALL SCORE: 9 [9]
Florence K on 08/24/2018:
" Nice course, not a lot of water "
OVERALL SCORE: 10 [10]
Kenneth M on 08/21/2018:
" Course in great condition and very enjoyable round. Most holes have everything right in front of you so no surprises. Trees in the fairway initially gave me pause, but they are good distances out from tee box and easily gotten round. Loved it! "
OVERALL SCORE: 8 [8]
Steve D on 05/08/2018:
" Excellent shape. "
OVERALL SCORE: 9 [9]
Michael M on 05/01/2018:
" several unique and challenging holes "
OVERALL SCORE: 9 [9]
George H on 04/20/2018:
" The staff was extremely helpful, I signed up as a single but the threesome I was slotted to play with never showed up. The starter found me a threesome that was turning put me with them and then found a place for me when I turned, they went above and beyond to make my day excellent. "
OVERALL SCORE: 9 [9]
Boris J on 04/06/2018:
" This is one of our favorite courses. We play it every time we visit pawleys Island. It is suitable for my wife's and my game. Always in great condition with a professional courteous staff to take care of any needs. "
OVERALL SCORE: 9 [9]
Enrico R on 04/06/2018:
" No complaints. "
OVERALL SCORE: 9 [9]
Linda H on 03/26/2018:
" Loved the course. "
OVERALL SCORE: 10 [10]
Alan on 03/17/2018:
" The staff were outstanding!! A special thanks to Mark that went out of his way to meet our special needs!! The course was in wonderful condition considering the time of year....best of any course we played. We will definitely include this course in our plans for next year...and any time we are in the Pawleys area. "
OVERALL SCORE: 10 [10]
Bob on 03/15/2018:
" Course is in great shape ! N. M. Nbv. Tbbb. "
OVERALL SCORE: 10 [10]
Russell V on 03/03/2018:
" The greens were immaculate, especially for this time of year. "
OVERALL SCORE: 10 [10]
David R on 02/26/2018:
" Thoroughly enjoyed thus tract. Greens at 9.5. Fairways very good. Traps and waste bunkers well cared for. Nice range and practice area. A must play for anyone. "
OVERALL SCORE: 10 [10]
Frank M on 02/24/2018:
" All were great "
OVERALL SCORE: 9 [9]
Julie M on 02/23/2018:
" Very nice staff. Friendly "
OVERALL SCORE: 7 [7]
Ted W on 12/24/2017:
" Course in very good condition. Greens a little slow but putted true. Staff very friendly. Great layout, Nice par 3's & just enough trouble around to keep you honest. "
OVERALL SCORE: 8 [8]
David on 11/08/2017:
" For more than 20 years, Tradition Golf Club on Pawleys Island has been playing host to both local golfers and those that converge on the Myrtle Beach area during peak golf seasons. This Ron Garl design is built on the site of a 16th century rice plantation and opened for play in 1996. Tradition Club has received numerous accolades, including South Carolina Golf Course of the Year in 2001, and has been awarded 4.5-stars by Golf Digest as well as voted Top Fairways for 1998 by Golf for Women. Tradition Club was also nominated as Best New Public Course by Golf Digest in 1996. It is truly one of the most prestigious golf clubs with public access in the Myrtle Beach area. Also on property is an impressive practice complex. These are becoming a Ron Garl trademark and one that he has duplicated at several of the other courses he has designed/redesigned around the world. It includes a spacious full-length driving range, a massive chipping green and a putting green with multiple elevation changes so that you can get an idea of the breaks you will encounter during your round. With over 6,800 yards of golf course in front of you at Tradition Club, arrive early and take full advantage of this wonderful practice facility. Tradition Club is located in the same general area as several other Waccamaw Golf Trail Courses: Willbrook Plantation, River Club and Litchfield Country Club. Five sets of tees provide playable distances for any level of golfer. The Tournament Tees play 6,875 yards and carry a course rating of 73.2 and a slope of 134; a fitting test for low handicappers. The Mens Tees weigh in at 6,313 (70.8/125) while Ladies have the choice of two distances, the Gold (Senior/Ladies) play 5,728 (73.1/124 for the ladies) or the Red (5,189/70.4/120). There is also a junior set of tees that plays 4,106 with a course rating of 63.5 and a slope of 105. As you make your way around Tradition Club, you will see how the course communes with nature. Meticulously maintained fairways wind their way through maritime forests and pristine wetlands. Many fairways are lined with live oaks and towering pines, yet there is ample room off the tee to swing away and go for broke. Ron Garl seems to be a big fan of island greens and Tradition Club does not disappoint. In fact, youll have two opportunities to test your mettle on Number 7 and Number 15. Number 7 is a par 4, so you cant use a tee on your approach shot. Water is present on about 9 holes but is really only a factor on 4 of those, two of which are the island greens. The bunkers at Tradition Club are well maintained and filled with fine sugary sand. Most are low-lipped and dont provide any added penalty. A number of holes feature large waste bunkers that are well groomed and add to the overall beauty of the course. As nice as the course is, Tradition Club is defined by its well-conditioned Bermuda greens. Some have gentle undulations and subtle breaks while others are well-sloped from back to front. All roll fast, true and consistent. Members Favorite Holes: I spoke with a number of members who had varying opinions on their favorite hole, so we narrowed it down to two. Number 5: Par 3, 179 yards (Mens Tees). A challenging par 3 thats got it all in the way of hazards. From the tee, you need to carry both water and sand; theres more sand right of the green if you push your shot. The green is shallow only 29 yards deep, so distance control and a good putting stroke on this well-contoured green - are essential if you want to score well. Walk away with a par and be happy. Number 7: Par 4, 377 yards (Mens Tees). One of two island greens on the course; only you cant use a tee to reach this one. Long ball hitters will find it best to leave the driver in the bag here; you run out of fairway at about 300 yards from the back tees. Youll need superior distance control on your approach shot into this island green with a large bunker left. A back-right pin can be a challenge with all of the mounding. Writers Favorite: Number 10: Par 5, 510 yards (Mens Tees). A long dogleg left that just seems to keep on turning. Theres a large waste bunker all the way down the left side of the fairway, so favor the right side off the tee and with your approach shot. The large fairway bunker of the right side cant be seen off the tee and shouldnt come into play. A good drive followed by a well-placed layup will leave a short pitch into a green that slopes severely from back to front and is protected on the left side by the waste bunker. Mounding in the fairway can produce some interesting lies! Pros Pick: Number 1: Par 4, 323 yards (Mens Tees). A short, yet trying par 4 to get your round under way. A gentle dogleg right with a large waste bunker on the right side. Find this bunker off the tee and not only will you have to deal with a sand shot of about 100 yards, youll have to carry it over several large oak trees. Playing down the left side of this well-mounded fairway leaves a cleaner look into the green with only a single bunker on the left side to contend with. The other island green is worth mentioning as well. Number 15 is a par 3 that plays 157 yards from the mens tees. Clear the water onto the largest green on the course with trouble on all sides. Another short hole where par is a good score. Last Word: To score well at the Tradition Club, you need to have your complete game together. Out here, its all about shot placement: how far to hit it and where to put it. For the most part, the greens are well protected by sand and/or water. If your approach shots are not dead on, you could be in for a long day. Being able to work the ball left or right as well as trajectory is a big plus too. The greens run fast and true, so a consistent putting stroke is a big plus. Most are raised and feature modest undulation. The two island greens add some excitement to an already fun round of golf. You should be able to get around the course in about four hours, which is nice. The course also drains very well so if other courses in the area are closed after a good rain storm, give Tradition Club a call. Theres a good chance they are open and playable. And not cart path only! After your round, stop by the grill room for some traditional clubhouse food and all of your favorite post-round libations. Tradition Club also has one of the best stocked pro shops in the area with all kinds of logoed apparel from all of the top names. Be sure to browse around and take home a memento. The staff is friendly, knowledgeable and always willing to help. "
OVERALL SCORE: 10 [10]
Gregg B. on 10/23/2017:
" Great Layout and Greens "
OVERALL SCORE: 10 [10]
Doug C on 10/22/2017:
" Very playable for everyone. I had a bad day of golf. "
OVERALL SCORE: 9 [9]
Donald (Greenville,SC) on 02/17/2017:
" Pleasantly surprised that course was in such a great condition all around. Will definitely return to this course often "
OVERALL SCORE: 9 [9]
Timothy on 02/14/2017:
" The course is in great shape, fast and true greens. A few wet spots but running the fairways. In overall great condition. "
OVERALL SCORE: 9 [9]
Don Dickie on 02/11/2017:
" Course in great shape; especially the greens. Staff very accomadative and personal. Great experience! "
OVERALL SCORE: 9 [9]
Janet (Wexford, PA) on 01/22/2017:
" People were nice. Course was in great condition. Slow play did have to wait for EVERY Shot. "
OVERALL SCORE: 9 [9]
Mark (Pinehurst,NC) on 01/15/2017:
" Great course and have played here multiple times before but got off late this last round and only got 16 holes in. Disappointing because they didn't have any carts ready for the 1 o'clock on tee times. Other than that one of the better courses in that area and with a nice online price from MBN.com. "
OVERALL SCORE: 8 [8]
Michael (Pawleys Island, SC) on 11/29/2016:
" Very good overall. "
OVERALL SCORE: 7 [7]
Ian (Fonthill, ON) on 11/26/2016:
" Loved playing this course, each hole was like being on the course by yourself, the starters were well organized and our group of 16 got off without a hitch. Lots of pride taken by staff in making this course an excellent venue. "
OVERALL SCORE: 9 [9]
Jerry on 11/23/2016:
" We have played at Tradition Club for quite a few years now, and it has consistently been one of our favorites. The staff is always friendly and helpful, especially Bobby, who has become a very welcomed friend over the years. This most recent round of golf was played only about three weeks following Hurricane Matthew, and yet, the course was in great shape. I was told they had lost more than 100 trees on the course, but they had done a terrific job in cleaning things up, and quite frankly, the loss of the trees did not seem to adversely affect the course at all. I also want to commend the Pro Shop staff and the quality of their merchandise. Tradition Club always has an outstanding selection of golf wear, as good as any in the MB area. "
OVERALL SCORE: 9 [9]
Michael (Cranford, NJ) on 11/09/2016:
" Overall a good experience. Would definitely play again. Excellent driving range. "
OVERALL SCORE: 9 [9]
Brian (Festus, MO) on 11/04/2016:
" Not too long and not much water, but still a challenging course. "
OVERALL SCORE: 8 [8]
Sharon (Georgetown, SC) on 11/02/2016:
" To have been thru a hurricane it was in very good shape! "
OVERALL SCORE: 9 [9]
Wayne (Peterborough, ON) on 10/26/2016:
" (Liked the) layout, variety and overall condition. "
OVERALL SCORE: 8 [8]
Clint (Gilbertsville, PA) on 10/21/2016:
" Course was in ok shape. The course itself had a nice layout. Greens were nice and rolled nice, but very slow. My wife and I had a 5-1/2 hour round. Very disappointing how long it took as we had to wait on every shot. We didn't see a ranger on the course and if he was there, he didn't do his job. Decent course but hard to give a good rating after such slow play. "
OVERALL SCORE: 7 [7]
Heiko (Buxtehude, OT) on 10/19/2016:
" Holes are very good to play for all players "
OVERALL SCORE: 8 [8]
Mark (Pawleys Island, SC) on 10/15/2016:
" Considering I played 4 days after Hurricane Matthew, the course was quite good. Lots of fallen trees and debris, but cleanup is underway. Only drawbacks were the amount of fallen leaves and branches made it hard to find your ball at times, especially in the waste bunkers. The sand traps were like concrete from all the rain. I just needed to stay out of them! Was still a great round. I'm sure in a few days the course will be in even better shape. "
OVERALL SCORE: 9 [9]
Anthony (Altoona, PA) on 10/04/2016:
" Due to rain cart path only-understandable but difficult to 18 holes under those conditions-not fun. "
OVERALL SCORE: 8 [8]
Ken on 10/02/2016:
" Tradition is a good course and offers both challenge and scoring opportunities for any golfer. The staff is friendly, helpful and available all of the time. All of the courses in the area were wetter than anything related to average from the storm named Julia. After 4 days playing in the area under cart path only and wet feet, we were thrilled when Tradition was allowing carts everywhere except 3 holes. It is because the course drains really good because several other courses close by were not letting carts on fairways. "
OVERALL SCORE: 10 [10]
John (Abingdon, MD) on 09/27/2016:
" It was raining and greens were still fairly dry "
OVERALL SCORE: 9 [9]
Randy on 09/18/2016:
" Best value for the money of any course in South Myrtle or Pawleys area - played it on a really wet day but can't wait to go back on sunny day. Great shape and great layout go play it. "
OVERALL SCORE: 9 [9]
Jeff (Kernersville, NC) on 09/17/2016:
" Great experience. Course was superb. "
OVERALL SCORE: 10 [10]
Terry (Perrysburg, OH) on 09/13/2016:
" Course condition "
OVERALL SCORE: 9 [9]
Frank on 09/05/2016:
" Course was in great shape. The greens were fast and were receptive to approach shots. We enjoyed the variety of challenges that the course offers. A solid mix of longer holes and shorter holes that require strategy from the golfers. Staff was very helpful and friendly from the pro shop to the cart guys and the snack bar staff. Will definitely be back to play this course again. "
OVERALL SCORE: 10 [10]
Daune on 08/30/2016:
" Excellent facilities, golf course was in great shape. "
OVERALL SCORE: 10 [10]
See All 1371 reviews »